The Tiger Rising Tiger Rising

by Kate DiCamillo

I read the book The Tiger Rising by Kate DiCamillo, and I thought it was great. The Tiger Rising is full of humor, problems, solutions, and it is touching. It is about a boy whose name is Rob and his mother has died. He lives with only his father and a friend named Willie May. Willie May is like a second mother to Rob and he loves her. His relationship with his father is rushed because his father is always working from early to late hours.

Early in the book, Rob finds a tiger locked up in a cage, and he wants to save it.  He tells a girl named Sistine who is new to town, and she wants to go see the tiger. The tiger is owned by a man named Beauchamp, who wants to keep the tiger because they are endangered. Rob and Sistine decide to sneak onto Beauchamp’s property to save the tiger. There is a conflict between Rob and Sistine whether they should let the tiger loose or leave it in the cage because Rob is afraid of Beauchamp, but Sistine is not.

The ending is full of sadness because someone dies. A fight happens between Rob and his father at the end but everything is soon restored to normal. The book has a wonderful ending, including a new friendship between Rob and Sistine.  It is a great book and I think everyone should read it.

Reviewed by Addie

4 responses »

  1. Camille your student says:

    I will read it. It looks wonderful!

  2. Matt a.k.a Declan says:

    This book is awesome but very sad

  3. Linda Baie says:

    I am a teacher in Denver, CO & just found you because your teacher left a comment on another blog called Gathering Books. I blog too and sometimes about books, sometimes teaching different things and sometimes my family. I just read another review of Tiger Rising and checked out the book from our school library. Now that I’ve read your review too, I’m really interested in reading it. Thank you!

  4. Alipie says:

    Wow, nice Addie!

Add your two cents