Journey to the Center of the Earth

By Jules Verne

It all starts when Axel’s uncle, Professor Lindenbrock, gets a book from the library. When they open the book an old piece of parchment falls out. They translate it and discover what it says. It says, “Descend into the crater of Sneffels Yokul, over which the shadow of Scataris falls before the calends of July, bold traveler, and you will reach the center of the earth. I have done this. Arne Saknussemm.” The following day, Axel and his uncle set off on a journey to the center of the earth, but will they make it?

Jules Verne does a great job of describing each scene. It makes you feel like you’re actually traveling with Axel and Professor Lindenbrock, not reading the book. He also does a great job of slowing down time to describe everything. If you have not read Journey to the Center of the Earth, I suggest reading it now.

Reviewed by Colin

11 responses »

  1. ross says:

    Sounds awesome Colin.

  2. alipie says:

    Ya, I might read it. 🙂

  3. Emmy-nem :D says:

    There are a lot of long words….

    Good job Colin!

  4. Soph says:

    I watched the movie a couple times but now I wish I had read the book first

  5. UmbrElla says:

    nice review i wanna read the book

    it sounds good

    do u know if the movies good?!?!?

  6. Soph says:

    The movie was really good
    I dunno if the book I should read

  7. Colindude says:

    I havent seen the movie but I might.

  8. S.awesome says:

    I think they’re making a new movie for Journey to the Center of the Earth.

  9. bean burrito says:

    The original movie is boring the book is really good though nice review colin

  10. cole the mole says:

    The movie is OK but I bet the book is better.

Add your two cents