Hatchet

Author: Gary Paulsen

Genre: adventure fiction/realistic fiction

“A heart stopping story… something beyond adventure, a book that plunges the reader into the cleft of the protagonist’s experience”- Publishers Weekly

Brian Robeson has to land a single engine plane all by himself on his way to visit his father. This all happened because the pilot suffered a massive heart attack and died. Lost in the Canadian wilderness, will thirteen-year-old Brian ever get to see his father again? Brian only has a hatchet that his mom gave him as a parting gift and the clothes he is wearing to use to survive. He uses this hatchet to make spears to catch fish, bows and arrows to catch birds, and even more! With only a hatchet, how long will Brian survive?

Hatchet is a book full of suspense, and you don’t know what will happen next. I liked this book because of all the risks Brian has to take. My favorite part of the book is when Brian realizes he might be able to make a fire by using his hatchet and making sparks. I have never seen a book with so much writers’ craft. Gary Paulsen does a great job of describing details. When I was reading the book, it made me think of what I would do in the same situation. If you like adventure, I strongly recommend this book.

Review by Emma G.

19 responses »

  1. Camille says:

    I started reading this book and was not so amazed. Should I read on?

    • Frances (is awesome) says:

      yea Camille i wasn’t so interested but the review made it sound soooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good!!!!!!

      i think i’ll try it again.

  2. alipie says:

    You guys- (Frances and Camille)
    You SHOULD read on! It’s really a good book. If you read until the pilot suffers a heart attack… it’s gory but awesome. The ending is good, too. You should totally finish it!

  3. colston says:

    Once you finish the first book, you should read the second called Brian’s Winter.

  4. Karcasori says:

    emma great job and emmy whats your book?
    emma back to u, i think you did a great job did u know that there is a 2nd book to hatchet its called brains winter

  5. Colindude says:

    I have read Hatchet and Brians Winter. Did you know that there is Brians Hunt and another book in the series too?

  6. beeli10 says:

    I am reading it right now and I love it.

  7. beeli10 says:

    I just started and you are spoiling it for me.

  8. cole the mole says:

    I love this book.

  9. Emmy-nem :D says:

    I ❤ how u said its full of supence, because it's just a good way to put a story, without giving it up! 🙂 😉

  10. Colindude says:

    I think the 4th book is brians return but I am not sure.

  11. bean burrito says:

    I love this book

  12. cole the mole says:

    You should read the three other books.

  13. Will says:

    Hatchet is boss. Read the sequel, the river.

  14. Soph-i-am says:

    this is like the best adventure outdoorsy kind of book besides the hunger games series which obviously no one can resist but still it hatchet is sooo amazing

  15. bridgette says:

    this book is awsome!

Add your two cents

