The Invention of Hugo Cabret

By Brian Selznick

This amazing and well-written book is about a boy named Hugo Cabret.  When his father perishe in a fire, all Hugo has left of him was an automaton he had found in the attic of the museum in Paris.

Soon after, Hugo’s Uncle Claude, who had taken Hugo in, died.  As if that was not bad enough, Hugo’s beloved automaton breaks. Hugo goes on all kinds of adventures trying to find his way back home.

This book was one of the best I’ve ever read.  It puts you in the character’s shoes, and captures you with its amazing pictures, which fill in some of the story.   I’ve read it twice and I loved it both times.

Reviewed by Mia

11 responses »

  1. alipie says:

    Wow. I have been meaning to read this for a long time… I never got around to it though. I think my brother has it, but, if not, I will check it out from the library or buy it. Either way, I will definitely read it soon! Thanks Mia! I’m looking forward to it! 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀 🙂 🙂

  2. Nicola says:

    Absolutely wonderful, isn’t it? Now you must read Wonderstruck, if you haven’t already!

  3. eden says:

    I agree, it is a wonderful book.

  4. alipie says:

    Maybe I’ll read that too…

  5. Domo says:

    One of the best books I’ve ever read.

  6. marc13 says:

    I’ve read this book, and it’s amazing!

Add your two cents

