Darth Paper Strikes Back

By Tom Angleberger

This book is about a kid named Dwight, who is a seventh grade oddball. He carries around an origami finger puppet of Yoda. Dwight may be a little clueless, but Origami Yoda gives great advice. Anyway, a girl named Jen asks Origami Yoda if she should try out for the cheerleading team. Origami Yoda, instead of giving advice, “threatens” her. Dwight is sent to the office for it. Tommy, one of Dwight’s good friends, waits for him. When he (Dwight) comes out, Origami Yoda tells Tommy that Dwight has been kicked out of school. So Tommy decides to start a case file so Dwight can stay. This book has plenty of description and lots of humor. The end, I guarantee, will put a smile on your face in a way you didn’t expect.

I like this book because it always makes me laugh and want to cry at the same time. It touches my heart and I can truly see how much everyone, especially Tommy, cared about Dwight. Tom Angleberger does a fantastic job on describing what is happening because I can always paint a picture in my mind. Angleberger also describes the character emotions so well I feel like I am really in the book. The ending is great and I hope you read this book and feel the emotion it brings to you.

Reviewed by Mary

[From Ms. L: This is the sequel to The Strange Case of Origami Yoda.]

9 responses »

  1. Emma says:

    This book sounds funny.

  2. I gave my son the first Strange Case book and he really enjoyed it. (I did too!) He’s a couple years older now, and this might be a little young for him, but I think I’m thinking about getting it for him anyway, just for fun.

    • teachergirl says:

      Thanks for the comment, Susan. I think your son would enjoy Darth Paper even if it’s “easy” for him. It’s got great humor like the first.

  3. alipiepolarbear says:

    Ya I will totally read it. 🙂

  4. alipie says:

    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  5. Ethan says:

    Iam going to read this book after the first. >:)

  6. Ethan says:

    Tthis book was FUNNY! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  7. Emmylovescupcakes says:

    sounds good! I think i’ll try it! 🙂

  8. bean burrito says:

    I have read the strange case of origami yoda but i havent read this one iam hoping to read it soon

Add your two cents

