Stormbreaker (Alex Rider #1)

by Anthony Horowitz

This book is about a kid named Alex Rider who thinks he is just a normal English schoolboy until his uncle Ian dies in a “car crash.”  He rides his bike to the junkyard and finds his uncle’s car with bullet holes in the windshield. He then goes to his uncle’s office and finds that his uncle was a spy for the British Intelligence Agency, or MI6. After that he goes on an adventure to start his job as a spy where he encounters a power-hungry madman who wants to take over the world, a dangerous assassin, and a pet jellyfish that might mean the end of him.

In this book, Anthony Horowitz does a great job describing Alex and his enemies.  He uses clever ideas and mixes them with useful gadgets to make the ultimate spy story.  I recommend this book for ages nine and up.  Next book in the series: Point Blank.

Reviewed by Owen S.

41 responses »

  1. Soph says:

    That book sound really cool. I like how you put parenthises around car crash. How do you spell parenthises? Um. I think this will be a great book!

  2. Alipie says:

    I like that. It sounds like a great adventure book. Maybe I will read it!

  3. Addie says:

    Oh wow!! I am so going to read that book!

  4. Addie says:

    Well, after I have finished my list of books that I am going to read!

  5. Alipie says:

    I wish we could read two books at one time! Or 3, or 4, or 5…

  6. Alipie says:

    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  7. Alipie says:

    I agree soph… 🙂

  8. Camille says:

    This book looks cool!

  9. Camille says:

    i like the idea of a jellyfish.

  10. Daeja says:

    Wow This Book Sounds Amusing. i Am Really Excited To Read It. 🙂

  11. Alipie says:

    I Agree

  12. Daeja says:

    Im Ready To Read This Book. Yay! Im VERY Excited. 🙂

  13. colston says:

    Great review Owen.

  14. bobethan says:

    I think i will read this book

  15. Ethan says:

    Owen I don’t understand the quotations around car crash, help me out. 🙂

  16. Colindude says:

    I have read Stormbreaker. It is a great book.

  17. alipie says:

    ok now I’ll definitely read it. 🙂

  18. Biija says:

    I’m so going to read this book.

  19. Emmy says:

    This looks like an awesome book!!!
    🙂
    😀
    😉
    😛

  20. UmbrElla says:

    sounds harsh and scary

  21. bijja says:

    ya Ella but doesn’t sound good.

  22. lilypop says:

    it sounds so good

  23. cole the mole says:

    If colin says it is good I will read it.

  24. Colindude says:

    This book is really good. I want to read the second book in the series

  25. foozle woozle dedoozle says:

    Wow! bullet holes in the car? cool! And his uncle was a secret agent? How so totally rad is that colindude. I have to read that and the second one colindude. man that’s amazing!

    • teachergirl says:

      Hey foozle woozle dedoozle – who are you? That’s a very creative name, but I’d like you incorporate your first name please. 🙂
      Ms. L

Add your two cents

