The Unusual Suspects (The Sisters Grimm #2)

by Michael Buckley

In the book The Sisters Grimm: The Unusual Suspects, Sabrina Grimm, age 12, and her sister Daphne, age 7, just want to be normal people, not the detectives they really are.  At their new school Daphne seems overjoyed when she gets Snow White as a teacher, but Sabrina is stuck with Mr. Grumper.  The gym teacher likes playing dodgeball but Sabrina is sent to the counselor after punching a girl named Natalie.  Sabrina is surprised when the counselor is practically proud of her.  But everything changes when Mr. Grumper is found dangling from a giant spider web.  The Grimms are on the case.  At first Sabrina and Daphne think it is a boy named Wendel who killed Mr. Grumper because white footprints were found at the crime seen, and Wendel had the same white footprints on his shoes the next day.  But Wendel is proved innocent.  They find out that some kids at school are Everafters, and that secret tunnels are being built underneath the border.  At the end of the book there is a little twist.  A girl in a red cloak shows up and knocks Sabrina out.  The story is to be continued.

I think Michael Buckley did a wonderful job of writing this book.  I enjoyed the pictures that he put here and there.  Those pictures were somewhat unneeded though, because Michael Buckley put the images right in your head.  Michael Buckley not only lets you know what the characters are feeling, but lets you feel those emotions too.  After I read this book I almost ran to get the next in the series.  The Sisters Grimm: The Unusual Suspects, is a mix of fantasy and adventure, and I love to read it again and again.

Reviewed by Mia

24 responses »

  1. Alipie says:

    That sounds SO cool! I’ll definitely read it! Thanks!

  2. Alipie says:

    Yes! Great review Mia! You really got me interested in it!

  3. Addie says:

    Wow! Awesome Mia! Have you read any of the others besides the first book?

  4. Addie says:

    I totally agree with you Alipie and Sammie!

  5. Alipie says:

    I like the cover a lot, too.

  6. Soph says:

    That was a really great way to say it.
    I’ve seen other people with that book and the rest of the series but I didn’t
    expect this. I didn’t want to read it at first but now I’m really inspired to.
    And I especially loved your “what I liked about the book”
    the oppisite os the summary.
    Amazing job Mia.
    BRAVO!
    ha ha ha ha

  7. sammy says:

    I personally think the cover is REALLY COOL. But i also want to read the book for what it is not judging its cover it looks good inside and out.

    thank you soooo much mia {PS IF my to read list ever goes down I will definitely read it!}
    😉 –Sammy

  8. Camille says:

    That is cool.

  9. alipie says:

    Ha. 😀

  10. Biija says:

    sounds good.I think i might read it.

  11. UmberElla says:

    Nice

  12. Frances (is awesome) says:

    really nice review Mia

    it sound s sopper great

Add your two cents

