Kids Pick the Funniest Poems

Do you like poetry? I do. When I was ten, I received Kids Pick the Funniest Poems as a Christmas present, and I’ve loved reading poetry ever since. I have many favorite poems from this book, like “Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout” and “Sick” by Shel Silverstein (click the poem title to read it). Another good one is “Eletelephony” by Laura E. Richards.

Eletelephony

Once there was an elephant,
Who tried to use the telephant–
No! no! I mean an elephone
Who tried to use the telephone–
(Dear me! I am not certain quite
That even now I’ve got it right.)

Howe’er it was, he got his trunk
Entangled in the telephunk;
The more he tried to get it free,
The louder buzzed the telephee–
(I fear I’d better drop the song
Of elephop and telephong!)

This post is part of Poetry Friday, a weekly event in the blogosphere. This week it’s hosted by Check It Out. Find more interesting poems in the links here.

If you have a favorite poem or poetry book you’d like to share, let me know and we can post it for next week’s Poetry Friday. You can also share a poem you’ve written.

13 responses »

  1. I enjoyed reading through the poem. So nice! I haven’t heard of this book yet. Will pin this in my Pinterest so I can look it up in our library next time I visit. Welcome to Poetry Friday! 🙂

  2. It’s good to see you here at Poetry Friday! The wordplay in “Eletelephony” is such fun…it reminds me of when my own children would just roll words around in their mouths, listening to the fun of the sounds. a.

  3. Tabatha says:

    This is an old favorite of mine, too! Thanks for joining us. 🙂

  4. Addie says:

    Wow Teachergirl! That sounds like a great book! Well, a poem book.

  5. Alipie says:

    Ya I agree

  6. Alipie says:

    🙂

    • Emmy-nem :D says:

      I hope in 5th grade we can still submit posts!
      This is so fun!
      Tomorrows the last day of school so I hope we can do it over the summer! 😉

  7. bean burrito says:

    Tha tpoem is one of my favorite poems

Add your two cents

