Hatchet

by Gary Paulsen

Hatchet is a story written by Gary Paulsen, also the author of Mr. Tucket. With his parents divorced, thirteen year old Brian Robeson goes to see his dad in California. On the plane it is only him and the pilot. When the pilot has an unexpected heart attack on the plane, Brian has to steer it. The plane is running low on fuel. He decides to let it crash a pond. Brian can’t imagine what is going to happen after that. Thankfully before the ride, Brian’s mother gave him a hatchet, but still how will he survive?

This book is a sensational book about how Brian survives. He has to go through hardships such as a tornado, bears attacking, mosquitoes, food! This book has all the signs of adventure to the wilderness. You will see throughout the story all the tools and advantages Brian uses, although there are many cracks and dips, sadness and adventure in Hatchet. I recommend this book for ages 8+. I learned many skills and worries you might have to go through in this amazing book. Hatchet is one of my favorite books.

Reviewed by Soph 

24 responses »

  1. Alipie says:

    This is a great adventure story!

  2. Soph says:

    One of my favorite honors book is Hatchet. I also reccomend Dominic.

  3. Alipie says:

    Soph- I agree! I also recommend Dominic. They are both about adventures, but in different ways.

    • Soph says:

      Totally
      I love adventure books and books where people die
      I have a sense that when I read a book and someone dies it just
      makes the book that much more interesting even though its sad
      Althogh in Each Little Bird That Sings its different because you dont actully
      have that many feelings about the people who die.
      Besides Dismay who was a really corageous dog

  4. Owen S. says:

    I LOVED this book. It was great

  5. Addie says:

    I love this book! It is one of my old time favorites!

  6. Addie says:

    Alipie- I agree with you! And I also recommend Number the Stars, if you haven’t read it!

  7. Alipie says:

    I recommend the Young Man and the Sea. It is an adventure story just like Hatchet.

  8. Addie says:

    Soph- you just gave a part of Each Little Bird that Sings! You shouldn’t have told them who dies!

  9. Soph says:

    Addie- No I just menchoned the dog

  10. Camille says:

    I was reading it but I could not really get into it should I read on?

  11. Alipie says:

    🙂 It gets better soph! 🙂 🙂 😮

  12. sammy says:

    im readin it it’s awesome

  13. Emma says:

    that was an awesome book!

  14. alipie says:

    It totally was, but sometimes it got a little boring. :(:)

Add your two cents

