Now Is the Time for Running  

by Michael Williams

Fourteen-year-old Deo grew up in Zimbabwe playing soccer until one day soldiers came and killed everyone. Deo’s mother and grandfather died, and Deo and his older brother, Innocent, who is developmentally delayed, are left to live on their own. Together, they go to South Africa by hitching rides in cars and walking across the savannah. They endure many dangers and hardships such as crossing the Limpopo River, which has a very strong current and is a bed for hungry crocodiles. They also have to fight off many wild animals. Later, Deo joins a soccer team that plays in the Street Soccer World Cup.

This book is violent and depressing, but is also a very great book because it has many lessons about what it is like to be a refugee. I would recommend it for kids ages 9 and up.

Reviewed by Colston

13 responses »

  1. Camille your student says:

    The book looks really good I will read it soon and hope I like it! I’ve been looking for a good book lately!

  2. colston says:

    I think you’ll like it.

  3. sammy says:

    Colston, I really want to read this book it looks sooooooooo good!
    One problem… I already have WAY to much on my to read list but, I will read it as soon as possible!

  4. Alipie says:

    This sounds REALLY great!

  5. Addie says:

    That sounds like such a great adventure book. Did you like it?

  6. Alipie says:

    I like these kind of stories. They are really creative.

  7. Addie says:

    Wow! I really want to read this book, but I have way to much on my reading list these days!

  8. Addie says:

    Wow! Great review!

  9. Camille says:

    cool!

  10. Alipie says:

    ya!!!!!!! It reminded me of Number the Stars sort of!

  11. Alipie says:

    It reminded me of Number the Stars because of the soldiers coming.

  12. bean burrito says:

    I will maybe read it

Add your two cents

